World Circuit

Active Patch 4U

Active Patch 4U

Kilian and Emelie Transvulcania winners

Transvulcania winners Kilian Jornet and Emelie Forsberg.  Photo © ISF

Salomon superstars and 2012 Skyrunner® World Series champions, Kilian Jornet and Emelie Forsberg are supreme in today’s Transvulcania Ultramarathon, launching the 2013 Ultra Series.

It was a new course record for Jornet in 6h54’09” and Luis Alberto Hernando, (adidas), was an excellent second in 6h58’31”. Both finished below last year’s record (6h58’44”) set by American Dakota Jones. Initially some doubt surrounded Jornet’s condition on finishing just a week before a successful ski-mountaineering season, like last year, when he collapsed, third, at the finish line.  This year he demonstrated yet again what a great star he is.

After the pre-dawn start on the Ocean front, the stacked men’s field was led initially by American Sage Canaday (Scott Sports) but by the summit, at km 57.8, he had settled into third position behind Hernando, followed by Jornet, at a few minutes distance. On the sharp, steep 18 km descent which tumbles 2,520m back down to the ocean, Jornet moved in to overtake Hernando and race to the finish. The final 6 km uphill stretch takes the runners to the finish line in the town of Los Llanos to the raucous applause of thousands of supporters.

Lluis Alberto Hernando leads at the summit. Photo © ISFTop American runners got their first taste of skyrunning and all performed well, including excellent performances by Canaday, Timothy Olson (The North Face) and Cameron Clayton (Salomon). A disappointed Anton Krupicka (New Balance) had to forego the race due to fever.  Other casualties were top runners, Canadian Adam Campbell (Arc'teryx), Germany’s Philipp Reiter (Salomon) and American Joe Grant (inov-8) who also succumbed, but bravely ploughed on to finish the race.

The women’s race was another affair with Emelie Forsberg (Salomon) and Nuria Picas (FEEC) neck and neck for the entire length of the race.  It was only on the last 6 km stretch that Forsberg changed gear and sprinted to victory in 8h13’21”.  Picas was clearly pushed to her limits and closed in 8h19’30”.  Forsberg commented that she had been unsure of her potential in her first race of the Series, back-to-back on the ski-mo season. She need not have worried.

Uxue Fraile (adidas), ran at a steady pace from the start and held her third position to the finish to close in 8h44’48”. Anna Frost, who also had to renounce a come-back for health reasons, maintains the 8h11’31”record set last year.

The runners faced a daunting 8,525m ascent and descent over the 83 km course, which starts at sea level on the Atlantic coast and travels along the island’s backbone to the summit of the volcano at 2,423m before descending again to the sea and finishing in the town of Los Llanos.

It was exactly a year ago today that the ISF announced Transvulcania as their first Ultra race that came to represent everything that is skyrunning. Much has been published, filmed and photographed, liked and shared. Exactly one year on, the entries have multiplied three-fold from 555 participants, to 1,684 from 29 countries* (TBC) with 982 finishers. No doubt the race will go from strength to strength for many years to come and enjoy extraordinary all-star line-ups on this spectacular “sea to sky” course.

The SWS season kicks off with the new SWS Team Partners supporting the Series: Salomon, Arc’teryx. inov-8 and La Sportiva, and were joined at Transvucania by:  adidas, Asics, Buff, Hoka, New Balance, Patagonia, Platinum Sigvaris, Salomon Agisko, Scott Sports, The North Face, Vibram and Quechua.

Follow us on Facebook and twitter for updates

Race website: www.transvulcania.com

Transvulcania Ultramarathon race results:


  1. Kilian Jornet (Salomon) - 6h54’09”
  2. Luis Alberto Hernando (adidas) – 6h58’31”
  3. Sage Canaday (Scott Sports) – 7h09’57”
  4. Timothy Olson (The North Face) – 7h11’53”
  5. Patrick Bringer (Sigvaris) – 7h17’19”
  6. Francois D’Haene (Salomon) – 7h17’43”
  7. Cameron Clayton (Salomon) – 7h17’47”
  8. Miguel Caballero Ortega (La Sportiva) – 7h30’49”
  9. Cristofer Clemente – 7h37’40”
  10. Marcin Swierc (Poland Skyrunning)– 7h52’21”


  1. Emelie Forsberg (Salomon) – 8h13’22”
  2. Nuria Picas (FEEC) – 8h19’30”
  3. Uxue Fraile (adidas) – 8h44’48”
  4. Nathalie Mauclair (LaFuma) – 8h46’14”
  5. Emilie Lecomte (Quechua) – 10h14’05”

SWS Ultra Ranking (watch this space)

Follow us on Facebook and twitter for updates